Albert Hammond Jr. Explores “Momentary Masters” With New Album

Albert Hammond Jr.

The Strokes guitarist Albert Hammond Jr. is releasing his solo album Momentary Masters in the U.S. on July 31 via Vagrant/BMG. It’s his third solo effort to date, serving as the follow up to his 2008 work  ¿Cómo Te Llama? 

Albert Hammond Jr.
The album’s moniker is inspired from a phrase from astronomer Carl Sagan’s work “Pale Blue Dot: A Vision of the Human Future in Space.” 

“I feel like the best songs I’ve written, as soon as I was done, I was like, ‘Oh my God, I did it!’ But in that split second that it comes, that feeling goes,” says Hammond Jr. “It’s the same thing when you find complete happiness, you find this complete low. I feel like that’s what being creative is: It’s you bouncing with emotion and what you capture in those bounces. Accept where you are and use it.”

The album was recorded in Hammond Jr.’s upstate New York residence at a converted barn that he’s named One Way Studios. Aiding him on his music journey are guitarists Hammarsing Kharmar and Mikey Hart (Bleachers), bassist Jordan Brooks, and drummer Jeremy Gustin. 

The “Momentary Masters” track list is as follows:

  1. Born Slippy
  2. Power Hungry
  3. Caught By My Shadow
  4. Coming To Getcha
  5. Losing Touch
  6. Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright
  7. Razors Edge
  8. Touche’
  9. Drunched in Crumbs
  10. Side Boob

“Born Slippy” is as catchy as the day is long. Check it out below:

Along with a May 27 stop in Barcelona (Primavera Sound), Hammond Jr. will go on tour from September through November. For more info, check out his official site.

Greg Srisavasdi

I've been a movie reviewer/interview since 1991 (as a UCLA Daily Bruin scribe), worked at Westwood One, Deepest Dream owner, co-editor of Hollywood Outbreak, podcast co-host of "CinemAddicts" and "Matt and Greg Used To Interview Movie Stars." I can be reached at for inquiries or whatever the case may be!

Greg Srisavasdi has 1270 posts and counting. See all posts by Greg Srisavasdi

%d bloggers like this: