System of a Down’s Serj Tankian Releases ‘Elasticity’ EP In March

The EP was originally intended to be music for a planned System of a Down album.

Serj Tankian’s Elasticity, a five song EP, comes out March 19 via Alchemy Recordings/BMG. The video for the title track, in which a woman (Sasha Bortich) attempts to break free from a seemingly unending line, has been posted on Tankian’s YouTube Channel.

Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to subscribe!

Elasticity’s original concept started out as a possible album with his longtime bandmates. “When I conceived possibly doing another record with the guys from System of a Down a few years back, I started working on a set of songs that I arranged in rock format for that purpose,” said Serj Tankian. “As we weren’t able to see eye to eye on the vision going forward with an SOAD album, I decided to release these songs under my moniker.”

Tracks on the EP are as follows: 1. “Elasticity” 2. “Your Mom” 3. “Rumi” 4. “How Many Times?” and 5. “Electric Yerevan.”

Pre-orders, a limited-edition indie retail purple vinyl variant and a galaxy vinyl web exclusive, as well as other Elasticity merch is now available.

Although System of A Down has not released an album since 2005’s Hypnotize, they released the singles “Protect the Land” and “Genocidal Humanoidz.”