Death Cab for Cutie Album “Kintsugi” Debuts In March

Critically acclaimed band Death Cab for Cutie releases Kintsugitheir eighth studio album, on March 31. The effort is their follow-up to their 2011 Grammy award nominated album Codes and Keys and it’s their first project sans guitarist/keyboardist Chris Walla.

Kintsugi was recorded in Los Angeles with Rich Costey (Interpol, Muse, Franz Ferdinand) serving as a producer, with the moniker taken from the Japanese art of repairing broken ceramics while refusing to hide the object’s cracks.

“Considering what we were going through internally, and with what a lot of the lyrics are about, it had a great deal of resonance for us – the idea of figuring out how to repair breaks and make them a thing of beauty,” says bassist Nick Harmer“Philosophically, spiritually, emotionally, it seems perfect for this group of songs.”

Atlantic Records
Atlantic Records

Track listing for Kintsugi (track 5’s name is just as memorable as one of their more signature tunes, “I Will Follow You Into The Dark”):

  1. No Room In Frame
  2. Black Sun
  3. The Ghosts of Beverly Drive
  4. Little Wanderer
  5. You’ve Haunted Me All My Life
  6. Hold No Guns
  7. Everything’s A Ceiling
  8. Good Help (Is So Hard To Find)
  9. El Dorado
  10. Ingenue
  11. Binary Sea

A nationwide tour in support of Kintsugi is also slated, and for up to date info on Death Cab for Cutie‘s tour info, click here.

Greg Srisavasdi

I've been a movie reviewer/interview since 1991 (as a UCLA Daily Bruin scribe), worked at Westwood One, Deepest Dream owner, co-editor of Hollywood Outbreak, podcast co-host of "CinemAddicts" and "Matt and Greg Used To Interview Movie Stars." I can be reached at for inquiries or whatever the case may be!

Greg Srisavasdi has 1349 posts and counting. See all posts by Greg Srisavasdi

%d bloggers like this: