Critics’ Choice Awards Presenters Announced


The Critics’ Choice Movie Awards, which takes place on Thursday, will be hosted by Aisha Tyler and air on the CW Network (8 pm et/pt). The scheduled list of presenters include Jensen Ackles, Christina Applegate, Kristen Bell, Jessica Chastain, Don Cheadle, Bill Hader, Jonah Hill, Sir Ben Kingsley, Nia Long, Kellan Lutz, James Marsden, Jared Padalecki, Margot Robbie, Julia Roberts, Ian Somerhalder, Isaiah Washington, and Marlon Wayans.

Forest Whitaker will receive the Joel Siegel Award, and Oprah Winfrey will present the honor to her fellow castmate from Lee Daniels’ The Butler. The Broadcast Film Critics Association will also honor Before Midnight collaborators Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke and Richard Linklater with the LOUIS XIII Genius Award for their work on the Before trilogy. The award spotlights visionaries and performers who have achieved “an unprecedented demonstration of excellence in the cinematic arts.”

As a fellow BFCA member, I encourage movie buffs to watch the show. I haven’t gone to the awards show for several years due to my hermetic nature, but the program is definitely a fun watch. One of my favorite performances from last year was given by Blue Jasmine lead Cate Blanchett, and she’s one of the many stars expected to attend the event.